2018 TCU Leadership Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award

First presented in 1954, this award is designated for an alumnus or alumna whose career and endeavors have achieved national prominence in a particular field, bringing credit to himself or herself and, in turn, bringing credit to Texas Christian University.

Beverley Bass '74
Argyle, Texas

Beverley Bass dreamed of flying as a young girl and broke barriers in commercial aviation as the first female pilot to be named a captain by American Airlines. She began her freshman year at TCU with a singular ambition – to receive a college degree — which was necessary to fulfill her lifelong dream of working for an airline. She graduated in 1974. Twenty-seven years later, she was ordered to divert a trans-Atlantic jet to Gander, Newfoundland, during the unfolding terror of 9/11. Her experiences are now the centerpiece of a Tony-nominated Broadway musical Come From Away, which tells the story of that historic event.


Royal Purple Award

Established in 1967, this award is designated for an individual’s extraordinary service and support of Texas Christian University and the greater community.

Mike Berry MBA '82
Fort Worth, Texas

Mike Berry, president of Hillwood Properties, is a graduate of Vanderbilt University and received his MBA from TCU in 1982. His leadership roles at the University include membership on the Neeley School’s International Board of Visitors as well as service since 2015 on the TCU Board of Trustees. He was on the Neeley advisory board for the creation of the Center for Real Estate as well as being instrumental in the establishment of the TCU Global Center Alliance. His service also extends to the Fort Worth community. He was inducted as the 2016 recipient of the Golden Deeds Award and is a former chairman of the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce. He has served on the boards of the Moncrief Cancer Institute, the Salvation Army and Performing Arts Fort Worth.


Valuable Alumni Award

The recipient of this award is an alumnus or alumna who has rendered outstanding and continuing service to Texas Christian University and/or to the Alumni Association. This individual’s contributions also extend to financial support of the University.

John '72 and Nancy Callier Kritser '71 '95
Amarillo, Texas

Living in Amarillo has not stopped Nancy and John Kritser from volunteering service to their alma mater. Both Nancy and John have served on the Amarillo Alumni Board, each as president, as well as on TCU’s National Alumni Board, with Nancy serving as a vice president. As Chancellor Council co-chairs, they hosted and assisted with the planning of the council’s annual event. The Addison & Randolph Clark Society has also benefitted from the Kritsers’ support: they have been members of the Clark Society Board as well as Clark Benefactors, endowing scholarships in both nursing and business. Several University projects, including the Ed & Rae Schollmaier Arena and more recently, the Kelly Center Expansion Project, have also benefitted from the Kritsers’ generosity.


Alumni Service Award

Established in the spring of 1992, the alumnus or alumna receiving this award has rendered continuing and outstanding service to the Alumni Association and to Texas Christian University.

Miguel Reyes '83
Fort Worth, Texas

Since graduating from TCU, Miguel has continued to play a vital role in the life of his alma mater and is among TCU’s most loyal alumni. He currently serves as the director of the Alumni Career Network on the Fort Worth Alumni Board, and is a member of TCU’s National Alumni Board. In addition, Miguel serves as president-elect of the Frog Club Advisory Board and has been a high-performing Frog Club volunteer team member, assisting with dozens of events and activities throughout the year. He is a former member of TCU’s International Alumni Board and served on the Parents Council when his daughters Jamie, Class of 2011, and Caroline, Class of 2014, were students at TCU.


Outstanding Young Professional Award

This award recognizes an alumnus or alumna, 35 years of age or younger, who has demonstrated outstanding professional achievement, bringing acclaim to himself or herself and, in turn, bringing credit to Texas Christian University.

Joe Brown '08
Fort Worth, Texas

A 2008 graduate of TCU, this 32-year-old alumnus developed HF Custom Solutions from the ground up. During the past five years, this specialty advertising company has grown to more than 600 customers with over $3 million in sales. Joe consults with organizations in utilizing promotional products that raise awareness for their company or group as well as creating excitement surrounding events. He has built and currently manages relationships with hundreds of manufacturers throughout the country as well as works with key manufacturers in China. A long-time client says Joe’s greatest strengths are his customer service and his personal relationships with clients.


Distinguished Student Award

Presented to a senior student who has distinguished himself or herself as an undergraduate at Texas Christian University, both in academics and in service to the University.

Landon Hendrickson '18
Fort Worth, Texas

A biology major with a double minor in business and chemistry, Landon is part of the John V. Roach Honors College with a 3.6 GPA. His honors include being a recipient of the Pillar of University Leadership Award as well as the TJ Hutchings Service Award. This busy student has served as president of TCU’s Student Foundation, as a Frog Camp facilitator and director, as vice president of Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, and as a peer mentor through University Life Peers and Leaders4Life. Landon also participated in the Frog Shadow program, leading high-achieving admitted students on one-on-one campus tours, and was selected to serve as a Chancellor’s Ambassador, acting as a student host for the Chancellor’s events.